The birth of a book cover

I thought that through my experience of doing promotions and public relations for authors I learned lots of things and I can share them with writers who want to make their books successful. So, I told to myself “Why don’t you write a book, a booklet, share there your experience and your findings about new ways to advertise a book, gain more exposure and increase sales?” .

Right, I can do it. How to Promote and Market Your Book I will call it and it will be a practical guide, a self-help book.Uh, that sound easy but how I can do it?I have no experience with writing, I just put a few blog posts together, I even don’t speak very well English.Hmmm, let’s try Madi and see what you come up with!

OK, research, make notes, create strategies, samples of marketing plans, info-graphics…and write,write,write.Ah,did you say graphics? Why you don’t try to make a cover for your book.And that was the first try:MY COVER-page-001

Take  the risk Madi, post it everywhere and ask for feedback. I’ll tell you something, that was painful, really painful. Too busy, clumsy,confusing, not a single like. Well, start again then, don’t give up before you start it.

How to make it then, what wasn’t fine, not constructive criticism and no ideas about what to do.And then I came up with this one:

COVER 2 FINAL-page-001

 

 

 

 

 

More or less the same, too busy ,ABC doesn’t fit, not professional, you should find a designer, still too busy, maybe you should wait until you can afford a good cover designer…blah,blah,blah,blah. At this point I was almost in tears and didn’t know what to do.

 

Don’t give up Madi, please don’t do it. Well they said too busy,make a very simple one.

MY COVER 3-page-001

Feedback for this one:Yes more tidy but still not there.

Well if you first don’t succeed then try,try and try again. Come on, do it. And finally my muse inspired me. I told to myself “This is the one” and you are not going to change it anymore.

So here is the last cover art for How To Promote and Market Your Book by Madi Preda

LAST COVER

And guess what? Not feedback at all, good or bad but because someone was asking me to explain my cover I will do it here.

I will explain you what I had in mind.Finishing to write a book is just the beginning and marketing is like a puzzle.You keep trying to find what it works best for you and look for the best pieces to fit.

In the right corner is the puzzle with a piece missing and on the lower level the man who push a puzzle piece.He’s got the answer and that is what my book is all about: key materials,innovative and creative ideas about how to promote a book.

Now, you know the story of the birth of my book cover and I want to say a big thank you to people who comment because without their criticism I wouldn’t end up with this book cover which I really like.I mean, I really do and I hope you too. Ha,ha, a  maybe next is some poetry? Who knows.

At the moment I am still working at my manuscript, the case study is not ready and hope soon to be published.Until then here is the fan page  https://www.facebook.com/bookspromotion where you can see more about it.

See you there

 

 

 

About authors promotion

Publicity and Exposure for Writers Authors PR promotes literary works,brings more publicity for writers and exposes their books around the world.Collaborating close with the authors,Author Pr will obtain more exposure and media coverage for the book and the author. -direct marketing campaign through creative and innovative marketing strategies -digital advertising -public relation -presentation-planning and design,evaluation and monitoring -marketing and promotional materials -website and blog development and design -authors interviews -pre launch campaign -analysis

Posted on May 15, 2014, in Articles, book marketing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

